Review of Truth by Molly Evangeline

When I was a junior in high school, I got my first taste of fantasy fiction when my buddy, Evan, loaned me Dragons of Autumn Twighlight by Hickman and Weis. I had already been involved in fantasy RPGs for awhile but I had never really read any fantasy fiction. I loved the epic story with a passion that is difficult to explain and found myself drawn to the genre, enjoying the Prydain Chronicles by Lloyd Alexander, the Drizzt novels of RA Salvatore and, of course, the Chronicles of Narnia by CS Lewis.

When I can across a unique offer from a fellow Christian author, Molly Evangeline, for a free copy of one of her ebooks in exchange for a review, I decided to try it out. I’m glad I did. Truth is a fantasy novel along the lines of the Chronicles of Narnia, in that God, Jesus and Satan are represented by fictious aliases. The Father is referred to by one of His Names, Elohim. Jesus is represented by the shepherd, Meniah. And Satan is represented by Zirtan, who is a conqueror who rules the northern lands. What I love about the book is how Evangeline weaves in our hopeless state of separation from God and prisoners to our sin being represented by the village of Reylaun, where the protagonist, Makilien, originally lives. Zirtan’s soldiers keep the villagers ignorant of the outside world and decieve them into believing that he is “protecting” them. But Makilien longs for the “truth”. This represents that tug that the Holy Spirit gives us when He is calling us to the Father. When a stranger arrives in the village, he tells her of the outside world, which leads to her escaping from her village to find the truth.

Throughout the novel, acts of heroism are shown again and again. Characters risk their lives for one another time and again. For the first time in a long time, I have a new trilogy to read. When this book ended, I was truly left hungering for more and can’t waith to read the second book in the series.

I heartily recommend this novel.

As mentioned above, I was given a free copy for the purpose of review.

Comments Off on Review of Truth by Molly Evangeline

Filed under Christianity, ebooks, publishing, reading

Comments are closed.