Legacy Blog #39: Filling in Some Blanks

My Beloved Daughter,

In this entry, I’ll cover some things that happened in the background that were important to the continuing story.

Firstly, I didn’t start college until January of 1994.  My intentions had, originally, been to go to College of the Ozarks, a Christian school near Branson that allowed you to work to pay your tuition.  Bobby Goodman was already going there and we had hoped to be roommates.  He had discovered girls and was sewing his wild oats there and, to be frank, I’m not sure the two of us would have even been in the same circle if I had attended.  The college had a limited number of students that it could accept at this time and they could not accept me until the January of 1994.

By this time, I had decided to go to the community college in Poplar Bluff, living with Grandpa Chuck and Grandma Pat to save money.  I finally got my driver’s license in early December of 1993, knowing that I would have to drive myself to school.  Originally, my major was Biology but, after my shaky hands butchered a worm that we were dissecting in Zoology, I decided to change my major to English (with an emphasis on Secondary Education).

Linda Clardy, my cousin’s younger sister-in-law, moved in with my cousin, Mark, and his wife.  They ended up with legal custody of her until the married couple had a falling out and Linda was taken from them and put into foster care.  This is an important seed that led to a major turning point in my life, something that we’ll discuss in a later entry.

My circle of friends began having changes.  Eric met Linda (not the one mentioned above), a girl whose family lived just up the road from me.  Both geniuses, they began dating and ended up getting married during Eric’s senior year of high school and Linda’s junior year.  Linda was with child and, while the marriage didn’t last, the two of them raised a beautiful daughter named Forrest.  I haven’t really interacted with her since she was much younger but, as of this writing, Forrest is now married.

In the next entry, we’ll discuss my college professors at TRCC.

Comments Off on Legacy Blog #39: Filling in Some Blanks

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.