My Thoughts on the 2016 Election

It’s over.

As the election loomed, my wife simply said she looked forward to the campaign ads ending.  Admittedly, the negativity of those ads became irritating.  I, on the other hand, prepared for the worse.  I prepared for the election of Hillary Clinton, resolved to the belief that she would nominate an abortion-supporting, legislating from the bench Supreme Court justice and fundamentally change our country into something that it was never meant to be, at least as far as our founding fathers were concerned.  I would have gotten up this morning, forgiven those who voted for her and moved on with my life, doing the best I could do with what God has given me.

That’s not what happened.  Donald Trump has won.  We will, if he keeps his word, get a Supreme Court justice who adheres to the Constitution.

But the angry hatred hasn’t ended.  The Clinton-loving media would have us think that Trump’s supporters were violent, bigoted and hateful people.  That’s not what I saw.  I saw a group of hard-working men and women who simply wanted a chance to lift themselves up by their bootstraps and not have to worry about their jobs being taken by people coming here illegally and being physically attacked by those same people.  While I did see some people on Trump’s side say hateful things about Hillary’s supporters, I challenged my friends and readers to call me out if I attacked her supporters.  I said things about Hillary, but not those who would vote for her.  I know some very intelligent people who voted for her and won’t challenge them on that.

On the other hand, I have been attacked by those same liberal friends.  A dear friend that I’ve known for twenty years, who is suffering from cancer and fearing that Trump will remove the pre-existing condition clause from Obamacare, told me that she would tell her grandchildren that I supported the candidate who wanted to kill her.  Another man that I’ve known since I worked at Chase—a refined, polite man whose father was an ambassador from an African country to Great Britain—basically told me that he hoped that my daughter gets sexually assaulted.  My family is pretty evenly split along party lines and a younger cousin, who is really more of a little sister, said that she wanted to unfriend all people who voted for Trump, not just on Facebook but in life.  She bit my head off when I reached out to her to tell her that I loved her.

The violence from those who supported Hillary, I fear, will continue.  Lord, I pray that I’m wrong.  I pray that, after Trump’s winning speech, which was very kind, we can come together as a country and move on, truly making America “Great Again.”

Comments Off on My Thoughts on the 2016 Election

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.