Legacy Blog #13: My Early “Fandoms”

My Beloved Daughter,

I sometimes tease you about your fandom of Five Nights at Freddy’s.  Truth is, I had a number of fandoms, too.  Of course, when I was your age (and younger), they didn’t call it a “fandom.”  Over the course of these blog entries, I’ll discuss some of my fandoms.  I’ll get to them as I go through that phase of my life.

I got an early start on being a Star Wars fan.  We watched Episode Four (“A New Hope) when I was in the first grade.  Mrs. Nicholson recorded it off of T.V. at home and brought it in for us to watch on the VCR.  Our school had one television and VCR that would be checked out by a teacher and rolled on its stand to the room.  We’d bring a dime and buy popcorn to eat while watching it.  I know we watched a number of movies while I was in elementary school there, but Star Wars was the only one that I remember.

From that point on, I wanted to BE Luke Skywalker.  I imagined myself being a Jedi Knight.  For Halloween, in the third grade, my Aunt Debbey made me a Luke Skywalker costume . . . just like the one in Return of the Jedi.  I had the cape and it even buttoned in the front, across the top and down the side.  I remember when we got it in the mail from Kennett.  I was so excited.  Normally, at that time, store-bought Halloween costumes were made out of cheap plastic with these cheap masks that had a rubber band in the back to put them on the front of your face.  But I had an awesome costume that year.  Grandma Pat bought me a laser sword that was green when it lit up, like Luke’s lightsaber.

When I look back on it, The Adventure Chronicles eventually evolved out of the “fan fiction” that I wrote at that time.  I use the term loosely, as I was simply creating my own versions of the Star Wars characters, not using the existing ones.

My cousin, Dan, was even more of a Star Wars fan than I was.  He had TONS of the toys, including the original Millennium Falcon.  If we’d have known then what these toys would be worth now, we’d have taken better care of them and Dan would be set.  Heh.

My next fandom was Pac-man.  When compared to the Halos and Street Fighters of today, a yellow head that moves around a maze, eating dots and avoiding ghosts might seem pedestrian.  When I was a child, it was THE game to play.  They had the coin-op machine at the grocery store in town.  I’d play it when Grandma Pat was getting groceries.

For Christmas one year, I got a table-top video game of Pac-man.  It looked like a miniature version of the arcade game . . . well, at least on the outside.  The game’s graphics were really cheesy but I loved it.  Grandma Pat was better at it than me, though.  You liking My Little Pony and me liking it with you reminds me of Grandma Pat liking Pac-man because of me.

When I was in the third grade, I got an Atari 2600.  With it, I got Pac-man.  The graphics were even worse than on that tabletop game.  But that Atari was my home video game system until I was in the fifth grade, when it finally gave out on me.

These are just two of the fandoms in which I was interested as a kid.  As we continue with these legacy blogs, I’ll touch on more of them.

Comments Off on Legacy Blog #13: My Early “Fandoms”

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.