2015 Cape Comic-Con

This past weekend, I attended the tenth anniversary of the Cape Comic-Con in Cape Girardeau, Missouri. I did better in sales this year, which is always good. I also picked up some comics from Helock Comics, as well as two graphic novel collections: Indavo by Nathan Bonner and Mike and the Ninja by Brian Rhoads. Both men are extrememly talented and their work is greatly entertaining.

I GOT TO MEET MISTY BREW!!! When I was twelve, I watched the first “Friday the 13th” film on the KBSI Creature Feature. I remember the hostess telling us that Jason was her ex-boyfriend and he showed up on set. That was in 1986. After the show went off the air, she disappeared until just recently, when she came out with a web-series. Her persona is that of a vampire, which is interesting because SHE DOESN’T SEEM TO HAVE AGED in the last twenty-eight years. Helping at her table was Timexx Seabaugh. He’s seriously one of the nicest guys you’ll ever meet.

Of course, I got to see Jamie Hickson and the talented creators behind Helock Comics. I was disappointed to not get to see Andy Borders, who didn’t have a table this year due to his new baby.

Nathan Bonner drew me a commission of the first portrait of Yoshika “Yoshi” Funakoshi. It rocks.

Finally, I got to see the ever faithful members of the Costumers for Christ. I was able to talk with them more this weekend and I really had a heart-to-heart with Scott Bayles.

All in all, a really good weekend. I can’t wait for next year.

Comments Off on 2015 Cape Comic-Con

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.