What’s Coming Next

While I’m waiting patiently for the final edit of Gateway to Thera to come back from my editor, I thought I’d mention something else I’ve been working on. When A.P. Fuchs announced his retirement a few months ago, the “Metahumans vs.” series found itself in limbo. Jennifer MacDonald, the creator of Nightcat, stepped forward to take over the project. This forced it to be put off a little longer, as her own Nightcat novel was due by May. Inspired, I decided to submit a short story. As the Adventure characters were not really suitable for a superhero story (although I insist that Yoshi could take the Huntress or Catwoman any day of the week), I found myself inventing a new character. She’ll be linked to my Adventure characters in a future book (probably BOOK SIX).

A former member of the Waruiyatsu ninja clan (you’ll recognize them from the Adventure Chronicles), she was trained to someday kill Yoshika Funakoshi. Obviously, she has to be incredibly skilled to do that. However, she had a conscience when they sent her to assassinate the six-year-old daughter of a diplomat and was kicked out of her clan. A nunekin, or clanless ninja, she has become a Christian and has vowed to make ammends for the lives that she took while a member of her former clan. When she stepped into the light, she stopped aging and found herself immune to poison and magic. Now she prowls the streets of St. Louis, MO, as Seigi (Japanese for “Justice”).

I’ve written two stories for the upcoming Metahumans vs. Robots and Metahumans Unleashed. I have three more short stories plotted out and at least one novel. Here’s a pic of the character, drawn by the talented Nathan Bonner and colored by the always gifted TW Johnson.

seigicolor

Comments Off on What’s Coming Next

Filed under comic books, publishing, reading, writing

Comments are closed.