Why I’m Not Participating in Nanowrimo

Each November is National Novel Writing Month. During this time, thousands of people from all over the world sign up to compete to finish fifty thousand words by the end of the month. Well, it’s not really a competition . . . except against oneself.

It’s a noble endeavor. And a number of the authors I follow online, such as Lindsay Buroker, Yesenia Vargas, and Joel Friedlander discuss it on their blogs. Many authors have written a novel that was, at least after some overhauls, published.

I’m not participating. I had seriously thought about it. But it just didn’t seem like the time. I just sent BOOK TWO to my editor and finished the initial draft of BOOK THREE. I’m going back through the latter, doing my first self-edit. I have a horror novel in the works that I piddle with here and there. I’m dealing with a larger workload at my day job. I’m keeping up with this blog, along with the book reviews. I, quite frankly, don’t have the time to participate in Nanowrimo. But I wish all who ARE participating the best of luck.

2 Comments

Filed under publishing, writing

2 responses to “Why I’m Not Participating in Nanowrimo

  1. I didn’t even realize it was Nanowrimo. I’m already in the middle of two books, neither one a novel. Maybe next year.