My Desk at Work

I was looking at my desk at work the other day. I work in a call center and we are allowed to decorate our desks in whatever fashion that we want, as long as it is HR appropriate. All I have, other than work-related stuff, are four pictures of my daughter (I still don’t have any pics of my wife and stepchildren in hard copy) and some books. One of my co-workers looked at these books (nine in all) and commented, “So these are what an author has on his desk.” To tell the truth, I hadn’t given it much thought. I had taken them to work to read, one at a time, before I got my Kindle. But, I guess they do say something about me. On my desk, I have one Bible, three books on theology, two books on publishing, two fiction anthologies and a novel.

ESV Compact Bible-A gift from my ministry mentor, John Sneed, this little Bible was intended for me to be able to carry around on door-to-door visits. I love the ESV translation and it definitely can serve the intended purpose. And it definitely helps to have a copy of the Word on hand when I’m at work.

Found: God’s Will by John MacArthur-This little book packs in a great deal of information. The premise is that, when you are closely following Christ, then His will IS your will. I love the book and it is a good, inexpensive book to give to new believers.

The Jesus You Can’t Ignore by John MacArthur-With preachers today who are afraid to say anything harsh or even preach about sin, it’s easy to forget that Jesus said some pretty harsh things to people and was more than willing to call them out on their sin. MacArthur pulls no punches here and the book is an incredible read.

Slave by (you guessed it) John MacArthur-Years ago, right after I was converted to Christ, a man told me that he had come to the conclusion that Jesus was more than his “friend.” He is the man’s Lord and Master. With most preachers wanting us to think that Jesus just wants us to accept Him and be his friend, it’s often a difficult thing to accept that we are to be Jesus’s slaves. But we must do so willingly. He is our intercessor before God. He is our King of Kings and Lord of Lords. MacArthur writes in a style that is easy for the layperson to understand. And I’ve learned a great deal from him.

Print-on-Demand Book Publishing by Morris Rosenthal-This was the first book on publishing that I purchased when I made the decision, after reading AP Fuchs’Axiom-man, to leave my former publishing company back in 2005. It took me five years to put it all together but this was the book that helped me with the technical aspects. Granted, the edition that I have is eight years old, so some of the info is undoubtedly out of date (with most of the info available online), but the book gives you much information that is helpful, if not essential, for beginning a self-publishing career.

Aiming at Amazon by Aaron Shepard-Admittedly, with my copy of this book being almost as old as Rosenthal’s book, this one IS outdated. After Amazon changed the way that it posted most Lightning Source-printed books, Shepard’s book needed a major overhaul. To his credit, most of the new material is available on his website. And, since I use CreateSpace for my printer, most of the changes make no difference. It also doesn’t hurt that, due to a clerical error at the B&N warehouse that supplied the book, I got it for half price.

Thirteen edited by T. Pines-I’ve never heard of T. Pines and this anthology is hit or miss. Truthfully, I don’t even remember any of them now. I must have bought the anthology because of the story by Christopher Pike.

Prime Evil: New Stories by the Masters of Modern Horror edited by Douglas E. Winter-I don’t know about “new” stories, as the Stephen King story in here is “The Night Flier” and is most certainly NOT new, but the stories were mostly passable. I’m not normally a King fan, but I loved this story about a unique vampire who flies around in his own plane. “Food” by Thomas Tessler was an intriguing, albeit grotesque read.

Pathfinder Tales: Master of Devils by Dave Gross-Admittedly, I’ve only read this one book based on the excellent Pathfinder RPG by Paizo Publishing. Also, I must admit that I didn’t really care for it. Of the three primary protagonists, one is a snob and one is a demonic bodyguard with a crude personality. The only likable one of the three is their dog, who has a good chunk of the book. Also, the society that they live in has picked a devil as their patron deity, which made me decide against using their primary campaign world as the campaign setting of my own Pathfinder game. So I guess the book was useful for something.

So, there you have it. That’s my portable library that sits on my desk at work. Take from that what you will.

Comments Off on My Desk at Work

Filed under Book Reviews, life, reading

Comments are closed.