I Miss You, Dad

“But if anyone does not provide for his relatives, and especially for members of his household, he has denied the faith and is worse than an unbeliever.” 1 Timothy 5:8 (ESV)

As I spent the day with my daughter, I’m reminded of my own earthly father. George Charles Davis passed into glory on September 27, 2006. I miss him terribly. Though he wasn’t converted to Christ until later in life, he took the above verse very seriously all of his life. He worked hard, providing for my family. He raised my two older brothers, both from my mother’s first marriage, as his own. At my dad’s funeral, my oldest brother even thanked him for all of the spankings that he’d gotten over the years.

But I don’t ever remember my father not working . . . at least until that work had destroyed his health. And, even then, he considered his inability to work a curse.

Today, I want to remember my father. And I take joy in the knowledge that I will one day be together with him again.

Comments Off on I Miss You, Dad

Filed under Christianity, life

Comments are closed.