Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles and Invasion of the . . ..

With the edits all in and me just making the final layout adjustments to Invasion of the Ninja, I am reminded of the wonder of my first published book some ten years ago.  Aside from the fact that the new book is a rewrite (it definitely needed it) of that original book, one other coincidence has jumped out at me.

Both times, a new “Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles” cartoon has coincided with the release of the book.

I hadn’t even thought much about it until I watched an episode of the travesty that is the new Nickelodeon series.  I commented on Facebook that the show was retarded and had people gently tell me that I shouldn’t use that term.  So I’ll just say that it is the dumbest cartoon that I’ve seen since . . . well, “Ultimate Spiderman”.  And I’ve made no secret of how retar . . . sorry, stupid I think the newest cartoon of my childhood’s favorite superhero is.

What do I not like the new TMNT cartoon?  Well, it’s hard to narrow it down.  But I’ll try.

First of all, the silliness factor has jumped back up to almost 80s version level.  Even worse, the facial expressions sometimes make the show seem like a CGI “Teen Titans” (another show that I just couldn’t stand).  To their credit, they kept the Shredder as the sinister bad boy that he was in the superior 2003 version, although I think that this new one is really human.  So the humor factor is really just coming from the turtles.

They also made Splinter to be Hamato Yoshi, rather than his rat.  He is also significantly taller than the turtles.  It just doesn’t look right.  April’s a young, teenage girl on whom Donatello has a crush and Karai is an adolescent kunoichi upon whom Leonardo has a crush.  But, to be fair, that wasn’t much different from the relationship that the latter two had in the last series.

The series has its good points.  The voices, mostly, are good.  I don’t really care for the voice of Leo in this version.  When hear it, I keep thinking of the guy from the “American Pie” movies.  I guess because it is the guy from the “American Pie” movies.  I also like the fighting scenes.  They kept the good action of the 2003 series.  And at least I haven’t heard them say, “COWABUNGA”.

Comments Off on Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles and Invasion of the . . ..

Filed under Blogroll, life

Comments are closed.