Review of “The Ghost at the Foot of the Stairs” by David Pickering

It is a true rarity these days to find a story that actually creeps me out while reading it.  That was why this short story left such a lasting impression on me.  The narrator is telling the story to a real estate agent.  I cant tell you why without giving away a major plot point.

The story is very “Poe-esque,” if I may coin a word.  If I hadn’t know better, I would have sworn that I was reading something by that master, himself.  There are phrases in the story that just left an awesome impression on me.  My favorite is:  ” .  .  . the insidious spell of the master storyteller steals over him.”

It is a short story and can be finished pretty quickly.  I was actually rather disappointed and would have loved to have had a longer tale.  I will definitely look up more from this author.

On a side note,  the cover is “The Brown Lady of Raynham Hall,” taken in 1936 in Norfolk County, England by Captain Hubert C. Provand.  The photo first appeared in Country Life magazine on December 26, 1936 and has since fallen into the Public Domain,.

Comments Off on Review of “The Ghost at the Foot of the Stairs” by David Pickering

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.