NET10 @$#%&^!

I’m not a fan of contracts.  I’ve had my fair share of them and they have almost always come back to bite me in the rear.  That’s my reason for self-publishing Lily’s Redemption.

And it bleeds over into my cell phone, too.

Over the past few years, I’ve done the prepaid cell phone thing.  I started with Virgin Mobile and then, for no real reason other than cool commercials of two cell phones having a baby and one of them saying, “Oh look, dear!  We had a NET10!”, I switched.

Yes, I know I’m a little naive.  Okay, a lot naive . . ..

But I liked NET10 enough that, when I moved from Nixa, MO, to St. Charles, MO, to be closer to my daughter, I actually bought a better NET10 phone, rather than having them mail me a free SIM card to switch my number to a new 636 number.  I’ve been with them for a year and have had no reason at all to complain . . . at least, until last night.

When I was with Virgin Mobile, I was enrolled in their unlimited monthly plan.  At the time, it cost sixty dollars and all I had to do was make sure that I had purchased enough top-up cards to add up to that amount on the day that my phone automatically renewed.  That makes sense.  Sixty dollars is sixty dollars, no matter what you add together to get there.

Now, for the NET10 issue:  Last night, I was on my way home from work and stopped at Walgreens to purchase my top-up card.  They didn’t have any single, $50 cards (the cost of a month’s unlimited service), so I purchased a $20 card and a $30 card.  Twenty plus thirty equals fifty, right?

Not so with NET10.  Instead of giving me any choice in the matter, it just loaded them to my phone as FIVE HUNDRED MINUTES.  I’d use that up in a week.  So I turned off the phone to avoid using any of this pittance of minutes and called NET10 this morning.  I spoke first with a person whose English I could barely understand.  I told him that I had paid for two cards to add up to fifty dollars and I needed them to switch it to the unlimited plan.

His response was, “Well you will need to purchase one of the unlimited cards, sir.”

“But I already spent the fifty bucks.  I don’t want to have to do it again.  I just want you to switch what’s already there.”

“Well, you will need to purchase one of the unlimited cards, sir.”  He actually repeated the exact same phrase to me again!  So I asked for a supervisor.

She spoke better English.  But she didn’t understand basic math.

“Purchasing a twenty and thirty dollar card isn’t the same thing as purchasing a fifty dollar card.”  She actually said that.

My response was, “It was with Virgin Mobile.”

“Virgin Mobile and NET10 don’t work the same way.”  Obviously.

“I’m not going to pay you guys another fifty bucks.  If you don’t fix this, I’m going to go back to Virgin Mobile.”

Her response?  “We’re very sorry to hear that.  Is there anything else that I can help you with?”

I wanted to tell her that she hadn’t helped me with anything yet, but I just hung up.

What has happened to customer service?  It’s almost as if the companies don’t care about their individual customers anymore.

Comments Off on NET10 @$#%&^!

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.