My Daughter’s Learning to Read

I felt like I was in an episode of “The Electric Company” tonight.My daughter was reading a book to me over the phone.  Whenever she’d come to a word that she didn’t recognize, she’d spell it for me and I’d tell her what it was.  One of our little exchanges went like this (I kid you not):

“Daddy, what does W-H-A-T spell?”

“‘What.'”

“What does W-H-A-T spell?”

“‘What.'”

“What does W-H-A-T spell?!”

“‘What!'”

[Putting her mouth as close to the phone as she could to make sure that I could hear her] “WHAT DOES W-H-A-T SPELL?!

It took me a little bit before I realized that she thought that I was just asking her to repeat herself when I said “what.”

Comments Off on My Daughter’s Learning to Read

Filed under life, reading

Comments are closed.