CHILD OF THE ‘80S

 

I was born in 1975 and spent the majority of my childhood in the 1980s. I like how that decade has started to become retro in recent years. I’ve purchased the “Top Ten” episodes of He-Man and the Masters of the Universe on DVD. I’ve purchased the first eight Friday the 13th movies on DVD. I’ve started collecting new Transformers.

 

The He-Man DVD has my two favorite episodes, Teela’s Quest and To Save Skeletor, on it. It also includes commentary from the writers and producers of each episode. I found out, for instance, that one of the writers from the series also wrote the screenplay for Friday the 13th the Final Chapter.

 

The Jason Vorhees set was a trip down memory lane. Okay, I’ll admit that the movies are definitely not family friendly, but it is interesting to note just how much the MPAA has changed in what it finds acceptable for an “R” rating. Compared to the horror films of today, these were mostly tame. Also, some pretty famous people were in some of the films, including Kevin Bacon (Part One), Corey Feldman (Part Four), Tony Goldwyn (Part Six), Kelly Hu (Part Eight) and even Left Behind’s Gordon Curry (Part Eight).

 

Of all of the things that I remember fondly from the 1980s, my favorite was definitely “the Transformers.” At one time, I had over one hundred of the first generation toys. Though my collection has slowly dwindled, I had not opted to buy any of the newer, gimmicky sets. But now, there is the “Classics” set, which looks more like modern versions of the cartoon characters. I’m collecting this new set and, so far, have Starscream, Rodimus (formerly Hot Rod), Grimlock, Bumblebee, and a set with both Optimus Prime and Megatron. I’m also waiting in anticipation for the release of the live action movie.

 

BEREAN UPDATE

 

I took my final exam for “The Prison Epistles” yesterday. I got a 90%. I’m really enjoying these classes. I never really understood just how little I knew about the Bible before now. The next class is “Introduction to Pentecostal Doctrine.” I’ll be going to pick up my texts at Global University today.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “

  1. I loved He-man when I was a kid. Haven’t seen it in many years, but I have such vivid memories of it. “This is Cringer, my fearless friend,” says Prince Adam. And the poor, gentle cat never seems to tire of being traumatised by the sight of He-man’s big sword pointed at his head every episode. He just looks back every time, quivering with terror, while cruel He-man sends a bolt of electric magic through him. This stuff is priceless. Somebody should do a parody about animal cruely: “Cringer’s Revenge”! I mean, really, what kind of a pet owner would call his animal Cringer! Especially a talking animal who can understand what his own name means. I can just imagine a young Prince Adam weilding a big stick to his pet and saying, “Mom, look! Look at him CRINGE! Haw, haw, haw!”

    I gotta see this show again!

  2. Thanks for the reply. I loved this show when I was a kid. I was really disappointed by how poorly the new series was accepted.