THE COST OF OUR MEMORIES

 

I stopped by the grocery store this morning and discovered that they were selling blackberries . . . at almost four bucks a pint.  I couldn’t believe the price of a fruit that used to be so readily available to me in the summer.  I remember spending the warm, summer days of my childhood carrying a paper bag and gathering the wildly-growing fruit.  Of course, the fruit would have filled the bag more quickly if I hadn’t eaten two for every one that I collected.

 

My grandmother would take the berries that we had picked and make cobbler out of them.  I loved blackberry cobbler.  Just thinking about it makes me long for all of the things that I remember so fondly from my childhood-homemade pickles, wild strawberries, my maternal grandmother’s chocolate roll (she’s in her late eighties and bed-ridden now)-so many things that the children of the current generation won’t have.

 

It kind of makes me wonder what my daughter is going to long for when she’s my age.

Comments Off on

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.