114616484060694586

FOOD

I recently ate at one of my favorite Chinese restaurants here in Springfield. Something’s been happening to the quality of the place lately. The last time that I had gone, there was a pile of vomit just inside the front door, about which nobody seemed to have told the manager. I never got a refill on my drink the whole time that I was there. They were (early in the lunch time) completely out of California Rolls-which they used to have in abundance. And their General Tso’s Chicken was WAAAAY too hot.

Today, things seemed better. They had plenty of California Rolls and the waitress refilled my drink without me having to ask her. The General Tso’s Chicken was still a little more hot than usual, but not unpalatably so.

Then I got to the restroom. Somebody had ripped the soap dispenser right out of the wall and the soap was covering the sink. I couldn’t wash my hands, which always bothers me. I also found what appeared to be yet another pile of vomit right next to the driver’s side of my car.

I’ll stop venting now.

GROWING UP

Last night-as we put our daughter to bed-she told my wife, “I need another kiss, Mommy.” Then she added, “On my nose.” So Sarah kissed her on the nose. Then our little girl looked at her and, in a totally serious and mature voice, said, “Thank you, Mommy. I’ll see you in the morning.”

It was cute. I wanted to cry.

She’s growing up so fast. I can still remember the doctor coming in to deliver her and asking me-not my wife-if I was okay. I still remember cutting the cord. I still remember the nurse putting her under the warming lights to discover, when she moved her hands up to cover her eyes, that she is double-jointed, just like Daddy. And she’s two years old now. She’s growing so fast and, if I’m not careful, I’ll miss it.

WRITING UPDATE

I’m still on the climax of the book. I’ll admit to a little bit of slacking on my part. The last five months, I’ve been on a roll with my writing. But getting only five hours of sleep so that I could make sure to write an hour before work is taking its toll on me. You see, Sarah has to be at work an hour and a half before I do. Since we only have one car, this means that I sit at work reading when I could be home writing. Granted, reading is an important part of any writer’s life, but so is actually writing. I just haven’t been writing as much as I had been. Hopefully, we’ll get another car soon.

Until next time, God Bless

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “114616484060694586

  1. Hey, Jeff. Here’s a way of transforming that reading time at your workplace into writing time. A relatively cheap portable word processor, the Alphasmart Dana. I was thinking of getting one of these babies. Check it out:

    http://www.alphasmart.com/products/dana.html