114556457224704417

MOVIE REVIEWS

I have the darndest time picking out movies sometimes. Last week, my wife and I rented four newer releases at a video store near our house that had a special on that number of rentals. Out of the four, only one of them-Memoirs of a Geisha-was a good movie. I liked it because I have, as most can guess, a fascination with Asia, with a particular fondness for Feudal Japanese culture. So Memoirs struck me as a good movie, even if the main character is played by a Chinese actress.

I am now going to give a brief description of the other three movies and tell you why I didn’t like them.

November

The premise was good: A woman’s boyfriend is murdered in a convenience store robbery and she begins to investigate it, discovering something shocking about the truth of the death. The problem is the execution. We get three different versions of the robbery, with the final version being that she died in it, too. It was a cheesy sort of Sixth Sense knock off that gave no way of the audience realizing it until the very end. With the Bruce Willis movie, the audience can look back through the movie and realize that him being dead made perfect sense. But, considering the fact that the woman in this movie, played by Courtney Cox Arquette, interacted with many people who weren’t dead and couldn’t necessarily “see dead people”-not to mention the fact that she taught a college photography class while supposedly dead, we had nothing to lead us up to the big surprise ending.

RENT

Based off of a Broadway musical-and considering the fact that this movie is previewed on the excellent film The Gospel-I guess I was expecting a modern Bing Crosby movie. What I got was a horrible, filth-ridden movie in which the “heroes” (and I use that term very loosely) are rebelling against authority by speaking out against a corporation building a business location in a place where homeless people are living. Granted, this is a noble cause. I don’t doubt that in the least. What hurts it though is the nature of the protagonists. We have a gay couple with AIDS in which one of them is a transvestite. We have a lesbian couple. We have a drug addict who does give up drugs by the end of the movie, but marijuana is always looked at in a positive light. The gross factor kicks up a notch when the gay couple and lesbian couple kiss each other on screen. And the movie never talks about the negative aspects of the homosexual lifestyle. When the transvestite dies from his disease, his choices are seen as positive by his friends when, at his funeral, we are told that he once told a man that he-the transvestite-was “more man than you are and more woman than you’ll ever get.” We shouldn’t applaud someone who can truthfully say this. We should pray for him.

To top it all off, during a redition of O’ Little Town of Bethlehem, one of the lesbians blasphemously moons someone.

The Skeleton Key

I hate watching a horror movie where the bad guy wins. For me, the struggle of good versus evil should end with the triumph of good. I watch the movie to see how the heroes overcome the villains. What’s worse is when I have been kept on the edge of my seat by a movie-like this one-then I am totally let down by the victory of the villains. That’s why I’ll never recommend this movie to anyone.

INDEPENDENT MUSIC

Last night at the youth meeting of our church, we were treated to an independent Christian musician named Christopher Ames. He was amazing. He had humorous stories to tell about his children and how they influenced his songwriting. He had amazing music that ranged from well-known pieces to brand new lyrics that kept us entertained for the full service. I’d highly recommend that you check out his site. You won’t be disappointed.

WRITING UPDATE

I am now in the middle of the climax of the current Adventure Chronicles story. The only thing that I can say is that I’m rather shocked by where it’s headed.

Until next time,
Take Care and God Bless

Comments Off on 114556457224704417

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.