114434878019391075

“GIVE ME YOUR SUPERVISOR”

I’m not a huge fan of Oprah Winfrey’s show. She’s always been just too liberal for me. That’s why I was surprised to hear from an acquaintance, a few weeks back, that she had advised her audience to always ask for a supervisor when calling a credit card company-if they aren’t giving you the answers that you want. Apparently, she even had the audience repeat after her, “GIVE ME YOUR SUPERVISOR!”

Again, I didn’t watch this show, so I’m not sure of the exact wording. However, as an employee of a major credit card company, I just wanted to throw in my two cents. Despite what everyone thinks, supervisors are still bound by the rules of the bank and the OCC (Office of the Comptroller of the Currency). If a normal representative tells you that the bank doesn’t have a lower Annual Percentage Rate to offer you on your card, then it doesn’t. A supervisor is just going to tell you the same thing. If you have an annual fee on your card and the timeframe to close the account to have it removed has past, then the supervisor won’t be able to change that, either. If your APR goes up because of a late payment, then a supervisor can’t fix it.

Most importantly, if you are 30 days late and it is reported to the credit bureaus, a supervisor cannot change it. IT IS FEDERAL LAW, PEOPLE!!! One thing that really irks me is a person who is forty-five days past due on his credit card account and he gives the most lame excuse (“I was vacationing in France and didn’t have a chance to pay my bill.”). Then he wants us to remove his late fee and clear it off of his credit report. My response is usually something along the lines of, “I’m sorry, sir, but going on vacation does not mean that you do not have bills that need to be paid. For future reference, we can take a payment on our web-site or by phone up to ninety days in advance to keep this from happening in the future.”) We can sometimes waive late fees. I’ve never really figured out what things make a person eligible for this waiver, by the way. But we will NEVER, short of natural disaster or an error on the bank’s part, be able to change your credit report.

I NEED CAFFEINE

I’ve been reading Stephen King’s writer’s memoir, On Writing. I love the book, which is somewhat surprising after considering that I have never read any of his horror novels. At one point, he points out that he drinks lots of tea to help him write. I realize that many people drink caffeinated beverages throughout the day. I’m not really big on tea (unless it is loaded with sugar- my friend and editor, Karen Griffiths, makes just about the only tea that I will drink-and I can’t stand coffee. I had been drinking QuikTrip’s proprietary energy beverage, Rooster Booster quite a bit. It had a berry flavor that I enjoy.
But Coca-Cola has changed that. They have released Vault, which is basically a renaming of a soda that they made while I was in college-Surge. If you liked that classic soda that made Mountain Dew seem like liquid sleeping pills, then you’ll love Vault. And no, Coke didn’t pay for the advertisement.

I WANT MY CLASSICS

Most people who know me realize that I am a fan of classic video games. I still enjoy picking up a Super NES controller or Sega Genesis controller and playing a good game of Super Mario World or Sonic the Hedgehog. For my PS2, I have the Midway 50th Anniversary Collection, which includes games like Pac-Man, Mrs. Pac-Man, and Gradius. I have the Midway Classics Vol. 2, which includes games like Rampage and Mortal Kombats 2 and 3. And I now have Capcom Classics Collection. It has more of the games that I love from my younger years than either of the two collections mentioned above. The first three incarnations of Street Fighter II are included, as well as Final Fight, Ghosts & Goblins, Ghouls & Ghosts, Super Ghouls & Ghosts, Legendary Wings, Gunsmoke and Commando. I can’t wait to unlock all of the secrets of each game.

WRITING UPDATE

I’m still working diligently on the next book of the Adventure Chronicles. After I finish with this one, I am going to take a break from the series and write a book that has been on my heart for some time now. It’s in a genre that I’ve never really tried before. But the characters are there in my mind and I won’t be able to get rid of them until I write their story.

Until next time, God Bless you all.

Comments Off on 114434878019391075

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.